The London Cremation Company – About us

The London Cremation Company plc is Great Britain’s oldest cremation authority and its principal activities are carrying out cremations and providing memorials at its crematoria.

It owns and operates crematoria at Woking, Surrey, Great Britain’s first crematorium, its most famous at Golders Green in London, St Marylebone in London, Banbury in North Oxfordshire and the Garden of England in Sittingbourne, Kent.

The ultimate parent undertaking is The Cremation Society of Great Britain (a registered charity no. 209978) which is a company limited by guarantee, incorporated in Great Britain and registered in England and Wales.  The Cremation Society of Great Britain is this Company’s controlling party.

The Company is managed by a board of directors comprised as follows:-

H Thomas CBE, FRSA, FCIPR, FCIJ (Chairman)*
S Wright (Managing Director and Secretary)
R A Griffiths, MA, FRSA*
Revd. Dr. P C Jupp, MA, MTh, MSc, PhD, FRSA*
E B Middleton, FCA*

Mr Harvey Thomas CBE, joined the Company as a non-executive Ordinary Share Director in 1983. He was appointed Interim Chairman on the 15th January 2014, following the sad death of The Rt. Hon. The Earl Grey and will continue to act in this capacity until a suitable Chairman is in situ.  He is an international PR consultant and served as a senior advisor to the Prime Minister from 1979 to 1991.  He is Chairman of the Council of the Cremation Society of Great Britain and a Director of CAMEO Ltd.  He is also a Fellow of the Royal Society of Arts, the Chartered Institute of Public Relations and the Chartered Institute of Journalists.

Mr Stephen Wright, joined the Company in 1998 and was General Manager of the Company from 2002 to April 2015. He was appointed a director on 1 January 2015 and became Managing Director on 22 April 2015. He has served as an Executive Committee member of the Federation of Burial and Cremation Authorities (FBCA) since 2006 and on the Executive Committee of the Association of Private Crematoria and Cemetries (APCC) since 2002. He served as Vice Chairman of the APCC from 2007 to 2010 and as Chairman from 2010 to 2013 and elected Chairman again for a three year term.

Mr Richard A Griffiths, was elected a non-executive Ordinary Share Director in 2000.  He is a former senior partner of the solicitors Farrer & Co and is a founder member of Resolution (formerly the Solicitors Family Law Association).  He was appointed a Life Trustee of the Sir John Soane’s Museum in 1993 and was Chairman between 1997 and 2008.  He served as a member of the Council of the Imperial Cancer Research Fund.  He is a Fellow of the Royal Society of Arts.

Revd. Dr. Peter C Jupp, was elected a non-executive Preference Share Director in 2000.  He is a member of the Council of The Cremation Society of Great Britain and was its Chairman from 2001-2009.  He was formerly director of the National Funerals College project, the Society’s representative on the Burial and Cremation Advisory Group of the Ministry of Justice and a Board of the International Work Group on Death, Dying and Bereavement. He represents the Society on the Churches’ Group of Funerals. he was a founding editor of the journal ‘Mortality’, a co-founder of the  biennial conference series on Death, Dying and Disposal and has published histories of modern cremation in England(2006)and Scotland (2017).  He is a Fellow of the Royal Society of Arts.

Mr Edward B Middleton, joined the Company as a non-executive Ordinary Share Director in 2011.  He is a Fellow of the Institute of Chartered Accountants in England and Wales and was appointed a partner in PKF (UK) LLP, Chartered Accountants, in 1979, elected to its board in 2005 and retired in 2008.